× This website uses cookies, please read and understand our cookie policy.

Premier Foods reveals ‘McDougalls Young Baking Team of the Year 2015’ shortlist

Many schools up and down the country have been working hard to create innovative recipes to be in with a chance of being crowned McDougalls Young Baking Team of the Year 2015 at this year’s LACA – The Main Event. We received a variety of exciting and mouth-watering recipes, from colourful Flower Marble Cupcakes to tantalising Puff Pastry Pinwheels, and we are delighted to unveil the five shortlisted schools who achieved the highest scores in the preliminary stage from the panel of judges including representatives from LACA, the Craft Guild of Chefs, and Premier Foods: Wyken Croft Primary School, Coventry; St John Bosco RC Primary School, West Bromwich; Nene Valley Primary School, Peterborough; King Edward Primary School, Doncaster; and Middle Park School, London.

The mission was for school caterers to recruit an enthusiastic team of up to three children between the ages of 7 and 11 to take part in the competition. The children were then tasked with creating one sweet and one savoury recipe using McDougalls Flour or a product from its Flour Based Mix Range, meeting the ‘birthday party’ theme to celebrate McDougalls 150th birthday.

Sarah Gray, Marketing Manager, at Premier Foods commented: “We have been overwhelmed by the quality and number of entries we received for the McDougalls Young Baking Team of the Year competition and would like to thank all of the schools that have taken part. Congratulations must go to all schools, but especially the five shortlisted who will be taking part in the live final in July.”

The five schools will compete in a live final at LACA – The Main Event on Thursday 9th July for a chance to win top prizes for their school worth £1,000 where they will cook the best of their two dishes at 1pm in the Arden Suite. The dishes will be judged by a panel of judges including representatives from LACA, the Craft Guild of Chefs and Premier Foods at 2.30pm with the winners announced at 3.15pm by Carrieanne Bishop, chair of LACA, who will present the victorious with their prize.